Top Notch Chicken Satay

The Sunday Chef Does Takeaway

So we love takeaways. It’s a weakness. We have too many by rights – they just hit the spot. And Deliveroo’s a gamechanger – a takeaway you can feel semi-okay about because it’s proper food from a restaurant. They just need to get a bit snappier with delivery times on Friday and Saturday but I’m getting off the point. One of my biggest cheffing aims is to make takeaway-good food at home easily and without the day after guilt.

Charlotte had her Hen Do yesterday, or Bachelorette Party for those across the pond. Which always annoys me, we haven’t been bachelor/bachelorette for 5 years, but again, I’m drifting.

This has been a takeaway weekend. Yesterday, I went to play snooker and got BBQ wings. Then in the evening I had a pizza and played PlayStation. This is my own little version of ‘the cat’s away, the mice will play’. Only much nicer. Then when the ladies returned from their adventures they ordered takeaway past 1am. Now this is always a risk and I think they regret it. Nothing good’s going to come from a place called ‘Chicken Basket’. It didn’t even come in a basket.

And today, deep in hangover, they ordered chinese. I naturally joined in. It would have been rude not to. And this is what I mean, there are some occasions where you just don’t want to cook. Today I think I’ve had a bit of an association hangover. A proximity hangover if you will. So takeaways were the order of the weekend.

I’m always searching for the holy grail though. A purpose in life – to make takeaway food at home, and make it semi-healthy. Because I do believe it’s possible. If I can make something that tastes (in my opinion) better than packet bolognese can, I can make sweet and sour chicken as well as our go-to chinese down the road.

I can make a korma as heavenly and creamy as our favourie Indian (I tried here and failed, but I’m on the hunt).

And my success story which I’ll share with you today:

A chicken satay stir fry that tastes as good as a takeaway. I bequeath it to thee, this fine Sunday.
Ingredients:

2 good sized chicken breasts

4 spring onions

1 red onion

2 peppers

A good handful of Chinese cabbage

Beansprouts

1 carrot

(Or, which works just as well, a pack of mixed pepper stir fry)

1 thumb sized piece of ginger

4 tablespoons crunchy peanut butter

4 tablespoons Soy Sauce

3 tablespooons Sweet Chili Sauce

100 ml water

Pack of noodles (Amoy super thin noodles are amazing)
Method:

1. Chop your veg if you’re going au naturel. I like a good chop personally, you feel like a proper chef when you have a good board of chopped veg in front of you.

2. Cut your chicken up into nice sized chunks. Or strips if you’re going for the aesthetic. (Look at me body shaming chicken).

3. Mix together the peanut butter, soy, sweet chili and water in a pan. It should go nice and smooth but you can use a bit of heat and a bit more water if it’s being troublesome. You don’t need to cook this sauce though.

4. Grate the ginger into a wok and start to fry it. Throw in the chicken as well and get it nice and coated.

5. Once the chicken’s cooked all the way through and gone a lovely brown, throw in your veg. You’ll want to cook it a bit but I like a bit of crunch in my stir fry to be honest. You know what else goes lovely here? Water chestnuts. Be still my beating heart I love a water chestnut. But that’s an optional extra.


6. While the veg is cooking (on a very low heat, this mother can burn easy), get your noodles sorted. And this is why I love Amoy. A packet each, throw the noodles in a bowl of boiling water and cover. In a couple of minutes you can break them apart with a fork and you’re ready to go.

7. Mix in the satay sauce to the veg and chicken. You only want to heat it through, you don’t need to go mad cooking it.

8. Some people throw the noodles in the wok too. For me you lose the presentation this way but I am a blogger. I also like to chop some spring onions and sprinkle on top. It gives a lovely bit of sharpness on top of the sauce.

9. Serve up and dig in! Home cooked takeaway is yours in about 15 minutes!

Leave a Reply

